Sunday, February 5, 2023

Beyerdynamic DT 770 Headphones Review

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. All opinions remain my own. You can learn more about our editorial policies here.

The Beyerdynamic DT 770 is a professional stereo headphone which has been on the market for over 3 decades and is used by professionals in recording studios, sound engineers, music producers and more all around the world. The review will discuss its features and specifications as well as provide some insight into what buyers can expect from this product in regards to sound quality and uses.

For the review we are referencing the Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro 80 Ohm model but will touch on both the 32 and 250 ohm models also.

Note: The DT 770 Studio and DT 770 Pro (80 ohm) are identical headphones with the exception of the logo and outer earcup panel. Please use this review for both models.

beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 80 Ohm Over-Ear Studio Headphones

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

Beyerdynamic DT 770 Headphones Overview

The Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro headphones are a closed-back design headphone that is perfect for studio environments. They have a balanced and engaging sound with an improved bass response, due to the company’s bass reflex technology. The headphones are complete with a 9.8-foot-long cable and a plug adapter, and are easy to see why they’re the choice of music lovers, recording artists and producers everywhere.

DT 770 Pro Specs

Headphone type: Closed-back, Ear coupling: Over ear headphone

Drivers: Dynamic drivers

Frequency response: 5 Hz–35 kHz, SPL: 96 dB SPL, THD: < 0.2%

Impedance: 32 ohms, 80 ohms or 250 ohms

Earpads material: Velour

Cable: 3 m straight cable, not detachable, no coiled cable available

Plug: 3.5 mm gold-plated stereo jack plug

Weight: 9.5 oz (270 g)

Included in the Box

Drawstring bag and ⅛ in (3.5 mm) to ¼ in (6.35 mm) adapter

DT 770 Cord
View Detail on Amazon

Design and Build Quality

The DT 770 is a professional stereo headphone which has been on the market for over 3 decades and is used by professionals in recording studios, sound engineers, music producers and more all around the world. From first glance we can see these chunky headphones have studio sessions written all over them.

The design is pretty simple with earcups made of hard plastic. We found the plastic to be thick and durable enough to withstand home and professional use. One complaint I will mention here is the white lettering on the earcups wears off pretty fast. Not a major issue but wanted to make you aware.

The comfort is really important for this headphone because it’s intended to be used for extended periods of time with no irritation. Luckily, Beyerdynamic gets it absolutely perfect.

DT 770 Comfort

Clamping force is adequate for the DT 770 Studios to feel secure and does not over apply the pressure. Using them for long recording sessions I did not have any discomfort or issues with them moving around or feeling insecure.

The headband of the DT 770s feature a soft leather wrapping with padding. Again, straight up comfort and the best part, it is removable and replaceable. My oldest pair of DT 770s I have are around 15 years old and I have replaced this once over that period. It will eventually get tattered looking and the padding compresses but we are talking about a lot of use before worrying about that.

Now onto these earcups which is the icing on the comfort cake. The earcup pads are incredibly thick and soft. Each pad is wrapped in a soft velour that is oh so comfortable (the velour comes in either black or grey). Just like the headband, the pads and wraps are replaceable. I will say I have replaced these a lot of times. I imagine with normal use they will last a long time. I lend mine to others recording and between all of the use and sweat the pads tends to get a little dirty.

Beyerdynamic DT 770 black
Black velour ear cover via Amazon

One note on the pads as I get asked the question a lot. They are not overly hot for me as looking at them you would think they would burn your ears up. I will mention my son is not a big fan of them and prefers the leather pads of some of our other cans.

The Beyerdynamic DT 770 headphones comes with a very robust cable which is about 3 meters long (9.8 feet), flexible, and allows for a good amount of movement. However, the cable is not removable, so if it does die you’re basically looking for a new set of cans. This is by far my biggest complaint of these headphones, I really wish they would implement a removable cable.

As far as portability goes, they do not fold, do not have a removable cable and are big. Being compact and portable is not their strong suit. If this is a deal breaker for you, maybe look into the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x which fold and travel well.

If you do not mind lugging a case for the DT 770 you will not be disappointed with them for use while on the go. They do not feature active noise cancellation but are closed back and offer a decent amount of external noise reduction. We found using them on the train for commutes, others conversations and ambient noise did not interfere with our music. In addition, they work great in an office environment. With the comfortable design, we would have no issues wearing these during long work hours.

DT 770 Sound Quality and Performance

I will save you some reading and start off by saying for the price; the sound quality in this dynamic headphone is simply astonishing. Granted these are not a pair of bass-boosted cans so if that is your end-game I would defiantly look elsewhere. The DT 770 has a very neutral, transparent sound that is enjoyable to listen to and let’s us hear close to what the recording should sound like.

For listening I have ran through everything from classical orchestral pieces to some light hip hop and the DT 770 sound quality never ceases to amaze me. They work great for virtually all types of music. 

beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 80 Ohm Over-Ear Studio Headphones

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

DT 770 Bass Sounds

The bass of this headphone model is punchy and clear, but not at all weak in the music we selected. The headphones are great for practicing drums with the drum set because the bass depth sounds accurate. They frequency does go low to pickup those ultra-low bass sounds in a natural way.

Take any track where the drums sound muddy on most bass-boosted cans and try it out on the DT 770’s. You will find the DT 770 Studio provides a great sound signature, with accurate bass depth and fantastic crisp definition on drums. All of this without ever sounding like it is boosted or threatening the dominance of the other instruments or vocals.

DT 770 Mid-Range

The DT 770 midrange produced from our music is outstanding at some things but lacking in a few areas as it is a little subtle. For recording or listening to tracks with a lot of guitar the DT 770 nails the midrange. You can hear the harmonics and clarity perfectly. For instruments like snare drums, the subtle midrange helps keep them under control and not smashing your eardrums. For classic rock, the DT 770 simply knocks it out of the park.

Where I find the issue is on some vocals. I find the DT 770 present some vocals a tad thin and lean sounding for my preference. I wish they had a bit more body and presence.

beyerdynamic DT 770 Tracking
The DT 770 headphones are great for tracking

DT 770 Treble

The DT 770 offers clear, crisp definition across the upper frequencies of music without being bright or fatiguing. If you are coming from a lower price / quality headphone product, check out a track that has some complexity like a progressive rock standard from Pink Floyd. It will take you no time to realize the detailed sound the DT 770 produces. There is detail in the upper mids and treble that you hadn’t heard before.

DT 770 Soundstage

The DT 770 has a very good soundstage with great dynamics and clarity, which is something that professionals and producers in the recording industry drool over. I like to test this with our favorite jazz artists (piano and guitar). To try out for yourself, try a few artists with detailed and “airy” compositions like Kevin Eubanks or Joe Sample. Notice how you can locate where all of the instruments are placed and how the instruments and vocals begin to expand outside your immediate headspace. Note that the soundstage is good but due to the closed design an open-back will often have a better soundstage (read about Open-Back Headphones vs Closed Back Headphones)

Power Requirements

This will depend on the exact model of the DT 770 Pro or Studio you are looking at. Again, the Pro and Studio are basically the same model. For the 32 ohm, you would be fine to run the straight from your phone or computer. The 80 and 250 ohm models you will need to look into a headphone amp.

Technically the 80 ohm DT 770 Pro will work (and does we tested it) with power from your PC or phone but it will sound a lot better with some juice running to it from a proper headphone amp. The 250 ohm version, you do not have a choice, you will need an amp.

Schiit Magni Heresy 100% Op-Amp-Based Headphone Amp and Preamp

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

If you are looking for a headphone amp for personal use, try the Schit Magni if your on a budget, both will sound great. If you are looking at a higher end amp, try the Chord Mojo with the built in DAC.

Chord Mojo Black DAC/Headphone Amplifier

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

Beyerdynamic DT 770 32 ohm vs 80 ohm vs 250 ohm

As you just seen, the DT 770 Pro comes in three different configurations in relation to ohms. Which model should you get, I will detail each below.

Go for the 32 ohm model if you want the flexibility of not using a headphone amp or something that is easy to power with an inexpensive headphone amp. These are good for listening but have never tried for studio work.

The 80 ohm model offers somewhat the best of both worlds. They work great in the studio and are a bit easier to amp than the 250 ohm model. I have seen users say the 80 ohm have the subtle mids I mentioned during the sound review section. This is the only model I own and have tested thoroughly.

The 250 ohm from other reviews sounds like the way to go for studio work. I have seen others mention they have a bit more neutral sound than their 80 ohm counterparts. The drawback here is they are going to need a decent amp to fully realize their potential.

For a more detailed explanation of ohms, you can check wiki.

Beyerdynamic DT 770 Pro vs DT 770 Studio Headphones

Figure it is noting one more time, the DT 770 Studio and DT 770 Pro (80 ohm) are identical headphones with the exception of the logo and outer earcup panel. One is not a pair of audiophile headphones while the other is not, it is for marketing purposes I assume. Please use this review for both models.

Beyerdynamic DT 770 earcup
DT 770 Pro earcup via Amazon.com

Beyerdynamic DT 770 vs Beyerdynamic DT 990

I get asked this question a lot in regards to which I prefer between the DT 770 vs DT 990. I assume since they are both from same manufacture and ballpark price points.

For me the two headphones are totally different and serve completely different purposes.

Sound wise the DT 770 has stronger treble with a subtle midrange and weaker bass than the DT 990s. Overall they have a nice, natural almost neutral sound.

The DT 990 has a very strong emphasis on the treble and bass with more subdued mids. They are kinda’ Byers “fun” to listen headphone if you will. The open-back design also gives the DT 990 an amazing soundstage that is much larger than the DT 770 closed headphone.  

In addition to the sound differences they perform very different roles in the studio and home.

The DT 770 with their closed back design and neutral sound are great for studio recording, listening to your music in public and in an office environment.

The DT 990 is open-back and are great for home listening when you want to be fully enveloped in a huge, open soundstage.

Beyerdynamic DT 990 Pro Over-Ear Studio Headphones

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

Compared To Other Headphones

Below we have put together a list of other headphones for your consideration that you may want to demo along with the DT 770s.

Audio Technica ATH-M50x

Another durable, closed-back headphone that is comfortable and enjoyable to listen with. We love the portability and detachable cable of these that are missing on the DT 770s but the sound signature is not as neutral for studio work and these would not be my top choice for music producers. Read our full Audio Technica ATH-M50x Review

Audio-Technica ATH-M50X Professional Studio Monitor Headphones

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

Beyerdynamic DT 880

Another quality headphone from Byerdynamic. They have a very neutral sound, even more neutral than the DT 770, and also offer an upgraded soundstage due to the semi-open ear design. These are not good for public music consumption or recording though due to the semi-open design.

Sennheiser HD 280 Pro

The HD 280 Pros are trustworthy, classic closed-back headphones that work great in a variety of situations. Although the HD 280 is less expensive, they also lack body and depth of sound that we love about the DT 770. They are a top option in the under $100 range and a consideration if you are on a tight budget. Overall the HD 280 is a great alternative for music lovers.

Sennheiser Pro Audio HD280PRO Headphone

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

Sennheiser HD 560S 

The sound of the Sennheiser HD 560 S are slightly more neutral than the Beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO. They are very comfortable and offer great performance to price ratio for a studio headphone. These are open-back headphones so again are going to serve a different purpose. These are one of the best low cost cans you can find for mixing. If you love the HD 560 make sure to checkout our full Sennheiser HD 660 S Review.

Get both pairs and use the DT 770 for recording and the HD 560 S for mixing for a great, low budget home studio production.

Pros

So comfortable for long tracking sessions

Durable, these cans can take a lickin’ and keep on tickin’

Amazing sound to price ratio

Fantastic in the studio

Cons

CABLE – why can it not be detachable

Confusing branding with the Pro and Studio

Big and not foldable for easy portability

Some vocals can sound a tad thin

beyerdynamic DT 770 PRO 80 Ohm Over-Ear Studio Headphones

Amazon.com
as of February 5, 2023 6:38 am

Verdict

As you can already tell, the DT 770 is one of our favorite closed-back headphone options in this price range. The Beyerdynamic DT 770 Studio is a fantastic headset that offers excellent performance and comfort at a reasonable price. There’s very little not to like about the classic Beyerdynamic DT 770 Studio. The headphones provide more body and depth than the less expensive, but always trustworthy, Sennheiser HD 280 Pro. If you are looking for a great, closed-back headphone option for studio recording, then the Beyerdynamic DT 770 Studio should be at the top of your list!

Want more headphone ideas, check out our other product guides. Best Headphones Under $500

FAQ

Are the Byerdynamic DT 770 headphones good for recording?

Yes! They are simply one of the best tracking headphones available in this price range.

Are the Byerdynamic DT 770 headphones good for mixing / mastering audio?

The DT 770 is a closed-back headphone with a close to neutral sound. If in a pinch or these are your only pair of cans you could use for mixing. With that said, there are better open-back models for mixing that you should consider investing in ahead of the DT 770s for mixing audio.

Which is better, Beyerdynamic DT 770 vs 990?

They are two very different headphones with different purposes and sound signatures. The DT 770 is more neutral sounding and closed-back and are great for long tracking sessions when recording audio. The DT 990 have an elevated treble / bass and a bit of scooped mid providing a “fun” sound. The open-back design creates a large soundstage and they are great when you want to listen and be enveloped by your music.

What is the Beyerdynamic DT 770 frequency response?

The frequency response on the DT 770 is 5 Hz–35 kHz, SPL: 96 dB SPL, THD: < 0.2%

Do I need a headphone amp for the DT 770?

The 32 ohm model does not require an amp. The 80 ohm model technically can be ran without a headphone amp but the sound quality goes way up if you give the DT 770 a little more power. Of course if you have the 250 ohm model, you will need an amp. For a budget headphone amp with good performance check out the Schit Magni. For a great amp with DAC built in, check out the Chord Mojo.

What are some alternative headphones to the Byerdynamic DT 770?

If you are in the market for a durable, closed-back headphone that are comfortable for both listening and recording music the AKG K240 or the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x may be viable alternatives.

Quinn
Quinnhttps://www.thesoundawards.com
Hi, I am Quinn. I am an experienced audio engineer who has worked in the audio field for the past 20 years. I enjoy most genres of music and enjoy home recording and learning about new recording techniques. In my free time I enjoy reviewing the latest audio gear and gaming.

Related Articles

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -

Popular Articles